Home NEWS 21 Kings Elevated By Ex-Oyo State Governor Loses Crown

21 Kings Elevated By Ex-Oyo State Governor Loses Crown


A State High Court on Tuesday in Oyo State dissolves the monarchy of 21 kings and chiefs crowned and promoted by the immediate past governor Abiola Ajimobi.

According to an undisclosed source, an agreement between the State Government and a claimant also the Osi Olubadan of Ibadan Land, High Chief Rashidi Ladoja, leaves the court with no option but to dissolve the monarchs.

Chief Ladoja In 2018 won a landmark judgment which quashed all the processes that led to the coronation of his  fellow high chiefs and some Baales numbering 21 on August 27, 2017  by the Ajimobi government.

The  state government, who was not satisfied with the judgment, approached the   Court of  Appeal. The appeal  was   pending at the court  as of  the time  Ajimobi left office on May 29.

Meanwhile his successor,  Seyi Makinde opted  for an amicable resolution of the dispute which  had pitted the 21 kings against the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Saliu Adetunji since 2017.